The International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)‘s Sagamore XIX – 2018: Conference on Quantum Crystallography (QCr), will be held Sunday 8 – Friday 13 July 2018 in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. This is the Official triennial conference of the Commission of Quantum Crystallography of the IUCr.

Under the auspices of the International Union of Crystallography and of Mount Saint Vincent University, and keeping with its tradition, the Sagamore triennial conference (started in 1964) will bring to the fore state-of-the-art experimental and theoretical research at the interface of physics, chemistry, and biology with the electron charge and spin densities, in both position and momentum space at its center – all under the umbrella of quantum crystallography. A main point of the conference is to bring together communities of experimentalists and theoreticians focused on this topics together in the same sessions and activities to promote the exchange of ideas and stimulate collaborations.

Topics range from instrumental advances and new methods in polarized neutron diffraction, X-ray magnetic diffraction (XMD), Compton scattering, time-resolved crystallography, Bader’s Quantum Theory of Atoms in Molecules (QTAIM) and more generally quantum chemical topological (QCT) approaches, with an emphasis on emerging fields such crystals under extreme external conditions of pressure and applied external fields including intense laser field. The conference will touch upon applications of crystallographic and  quantum chemical research in material, drug design, and crystal engineering.

Philip Coppens (1930-2017)

It is with great sadness that we have lost in June of 2017 a giant of crystallography and a senior member of this community, Professor Philip Coppens.

Profs. Claude Lecomte, Jason Benedict, and Yu-Sheng Chen have recently Edited a Special Issue of  Acta Cryst. B  entitled  “Charge Density, Photocrystallography and Time-Resolved Crystallography: A Tribute to Professor Philip Coppens”.

Updated: 6 Jan. 2018

Last update: 19 Dec. 2017





Sagamore XVIII attendees from Spain 2016
Attendees of the last Sagamore XVIII (2015) conference in Sardinia (Italy).


Declaration: Sagamore conferences shall affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activities without regard to ethnic origin, religion, citizenship, language, political stance, gender, sex or age, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science.